Thursday, 28 January 2016

Highlights Release Notes - January 27, 2016

Bug Fixes

Adding or removing a student made Highlights unavailable for a few minutes
After a Teacher added or removed a student from a class via the Class Info page, they could not access Highlights for the next few minutes. This issue has been fixed.
Time on Snap email incorrect

The time shown on the Snap email sent by teachers was not obeying the school timezone. It is now.

Tuesday, 26 January 2016

Workspace Release Notes - January 25, 2016

Improvement and Bug Fixes
  • Teachers and learners can now create new Google Docs / Sheets / Slides / Drawings from within a card in Workspace instead of needing to create these separately and then load them from Google Drive.

Screen Shot 2016-01-20 at 1.44.30 PM.png
  • When adding a Youtube or Vimeo link to a Goal/Resource/Rubric card the video itself will now be embedded and be able to be played in the Workspace.

Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 7.17.37 PM.png

  • Updated French translations
  • Previously students couldn't visit Hapara Workspace links that included their class code. They now can.

Tuesday, 19 January 2016

Dashboard Release Notes - January 11, 2016


French Translations Improvements
The French translations on Hapara Dashboard User interface (text and captions) have been updated to include additional translations.  

Hapara Dashboard Admin Page Improvements

Simplified many of the technical error messages generated by Data Loader to make them more easier to understand and interpret.

Highlights Release Notes - January 15, 2016

Bug Fixes

Can't send Focused Browsing to Group from Activity Viewer or Snaps page
Teachers can now send Focused Browsing session to a Group from the Activity Viewer and Snaps pages.

Access to blocked during Focused Browsing to
The website automatically redirects to When a teacher Focused Browses to the students should be allowed access to An issue meant Highlights was not handling this case. This issue has been fixed.

Sundry small style improvements to the user interface of Highlights.


Highlights displays pdfs opened in Chrome
A student can open a downloaded pdf in a Chrome tab. Highlights now displays the pdfs opened by students in Chrome in the Browser Tabs, Activity Viewer and Current Screens panes.

Focused Browsing "Restore tabs after Release" checkbox ticked by default
When a teacher opens the Focused Browsing panel, the "Restore tabs after Release" checkbox is now checked by default.

Workspace Release Notes - January 14, 2016

Bug Fixes

  • When you archive a Workspace, it now not only moves the Workspace to the “Archive” page, it also moves the Google Drive folder into an Archive folder in Google Drive, organised by year.

Archive page: Screen Shot 2015-12-17 at 2.35.09 PM.png

Google Drive:
Screen Shot 2015-12-17 at 2.42.55 PM.png

Google Drive Path:
Screen Shot 2015-12-17 at 2.43.25 PM.png

  • Fixed an issue where thumbnail images were not showing in Public Workspaces if they’d been added from Google Drive.

  • If a teacher attached an image to a card from their Google Drive, learners were not seeing the image due to a permissions issue. This has been fixed.

  • When using an iPad and clicking on Share this Workspace the copy button wasn’t working, this has been fixed.

  • The email feature that emails all learners on the Workspace was only including the original class on the Workspace and not any classes or learners added later. This has been fixed.

  • Fixed the group name craziness that could occur if a class was dragged into the name area on the groups page.

  • When copying a Workspace we were a little trigger happy and were showing an error message even when copying had succeeded. This should no longer happen.

  • The email function was only emailing the initial class or groups that were on the Workspace and leaving out any classes, groups or learners who had been added later. This has now been fixed.

  • If you shared a Workspace publicly, then changed a card, unshared and reshared the Workspace, the change you made was not showing on the publicly viewed When a school runs archiving the Workspaces for the archived classes will still be available to learners, under the “Other Workspaces” heading as the class they were originally associated with is no longer available.

Wednesday, 6 January 2016

Dashboard Release Notes - January 6, 2016


Automation including Archiving

Made improvements to the archival processes to automatically retry execution in case the process experiences any issues to reduce the need for manual intervention.

Dashboard classes are now locked down during Archiving

Dashboard will now display a message and will restrict access to classes for schools that are undergoing archiving.  As a result teachers or admins will have access to classes that are being archived.  This is to prevent errors that may arise when users inadvertently use Dashboard when archiving is in progress for a particular class.

Bug Fixes

  • Re-enabled access to Archive Classes for Administrators.  This will be enabled for schools that have requested archival so they can initiate it at the appropriate time.
  • Archived Folders now retain student names on Drive folders after they are archived.
  • Fixed an issue where folders were sometimes being duplicated during archiving.
  • Fixed an issue where some students were not set to read-only access for their archived folders.
  • Fixed a problem in archiving where the archive was set as complete even when there were outstanding archive issues that needed to be resolved.

Data Loader Improvements

The Data Loader Status screen has been simplified to make it easier to interpret Data loads.  Key changes are:
  • The Load Summary table now shows a single row per Data Load file that has been uploaded.
  • New icons appear in the Details column of the Load Summary table to indicate status of the file processing.
  • Introduced filtering on Load Details table.  Default display is to show only Errors and Warnings to make it easier to review issues.

Bug Fixes

  • Fixed an issue with Smart Share where Teachers were not granted edit access to a file if they already had read-only access on that file.  Now as per standard Smart Share behavior the teachers will have edit access for 60 minutes after which the previous permissions will be restored.

  • Fixed an issue with Smart Share where a spinning wheel was displayed constantly next to File Title when a teacher created a new file to Smart Share with their students.

  • Fixed an issue with the refresh rate on document thumbnails.